Microsoft Word Thinks Caps Lock is On

Every once in a while, I find that Microsoft Word seems to think that Caps Lock is on, and everything I type appears in UPPERCASE. Other Windows applications and the light on the keyboard show that Caps Lock is actually off. Closing Word and opening the document again does not fix the problem.

This finally annoyed me enough that I did some research and found http://www.techsupportforum.com/microsoft-support/microsoft-office-support/70154-ms-word-auto-caps-lock.html. Apparently when this happens, I’ve accidentally hit CTRL-SHFT-A (or maybe CTRL-ALT-A depending on the version of Word?). This enables the font style All Caps. I probably meant to hit CTRL-A (Select All), and if I accidentally hit CTRL-A before CTRL-SHFT-A, my entire document is suddenly UPPERCASE. Selecting the text and pressing CTRL-SHFT-A again fixes it by turning All Caps off. Or select the text in All Caps and click the Clear Formatting command, which is top-right in the Font group on the Home tab (the image shows the characters “Aa” with something that might be an eraser). Unlike the Caps Lock key, which applies to all keystrokes, font styles apply to the text for which the style is enabled, which remains after closing the document.

In any case (pun intended), maybe someone else will find this information useful.

This entry was posted in Obsolete. Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Microsoft Word Thinks Caps Lock is On

  1. Dave K says:

    Thanks! You solved my problem.

  2. Joanie says:

    Brilliant discovery. This also occurs when using word via Remote Desktop Connection from a Mac.

  3. Thanks John – you solved my problem

  4. Caroline Davenport says:

    Thank you, you saved me tonight with 4 papers due! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

  5. commodore73 says:

    Hello,

    It would be great if people could comment with the search terms they used before finding this blog post, which could help more people find it in the future. It is an incredibly frustrating but simple issue.

    Thanks & regards,

    -John

  6. Martha Simonsen says:

    Thanks from me, too.

    Martha

  7. sammeeks says:

    Thank you very much! I have six hours left to write a paper, and I almost lost it when all of the sudden everything was in uppercase.

  8. Wibbely says:

    Hey.

    I think it’s CTRL + SHIFT + A

    (not CTRL + ALT + A, which does something totally different).

    Thanks.

  9. fionatrumper says:

    AH! Thank you so, so much! I was having a panic that I wouldn’t be able to finish my University assignment, until I found this.
    (By the way, I found this through the Microsoft Office help in Word and typing “caps lock on”)

  10. Joe says:

    I searched google, ‘word 2010 all caps?’. Cheers, works a treat :) (Ctrl + Shift + A)

  11. Robyn says:

    This helped me. I appreciate it!

  12. RK says:

    Thanks, CTRL-SHIFT-A solved my problem! Your article showed up 5th when I searched for ‘CAPS LOCK’ on MS Word help.

  13. Sarah says:

    Thank you, you are a life saver :)

  14. sHEILA says:

    tHANKS. aS YOU CAN SEE, i HAVE THIS PROBLEM TOO BUT THANKS TO YOU i NOW KNOW HOW TO FIX IT! hOW ANNOYING. sEARCH TERM “cAPS lOCK”

  15. Suzi says:

    Thank goodness for people like you who can be bothered to find this information out!

  16. Lori says:

    Thank you very much! I went to MS Office help and typed “all caps locked on”. I see that other people did the same thing. You’re a lifesaver!

  17. Roxy Kade says:

    Omg!! Thank you so much! I was working on an important document and hit the wrong keys which made everything I typed uppercase! You are a lifesaver!! :)

  18. I personally seem to agree with all the stuff that was
    in fact put into writing throughout “Microsoft Word Thinks Caps Lock is
    On | John West Tech Blog”. Thanks a lot for pretty much all the actual details.
    Thanks for the post,Viola

  19. Sven says:

    Thank you so much for this!

  20. Julia says:

    ‘how to undo all-caps’. THANK YOU! I tend to type fast (all those years of civil service work) and sometimes don’t know what it was that I hit. When hitting the caps-lock key didn’t get rid of all caps typing (and trying various combinations of keys in the ‘caps lock’ area didn’t help either) I went to ‘Help’. My first try (how do i get rid of all-caps typing) just told me about the ‘change case’ feature (already knew that), but my second try brought me here. Success! Thanks a lot, John.

  21. Bruce says:

    Thanks. I found this page searching for “word thinks capslock is on”.

    I think in my case I was trying to type a capital A and hit ctrl-shift instead of just shift.

  22. Wayne says:

    Another grateful reader of your blog post. It saved my bacon when I was close to a deadline for a reference letter for an employee. I found it after searching the Word help function with “caps lock.”
    Thank you!

  23. Molly says:

    Thank you!! I could not figure out what in the world was going on!

  24. Camille says:

    Woooow!!! Thanks…saved me a lot of headache.

  25. D Stott says:

    Phew – problem solved. Thanks a bunch

  26. misterjeff says:

    Thank you! Was bugging the heck out of me :-)

  27. Karen says:

    Thanks very much, very helpful..

  28. Terry says:

    The All Caps function can be very useful in some situations, because while it ensures that all letters are capitals, it leaves numbers, punctuation and special characters unchanged (unlike Caps Lock). So you can type a number within an all-capitals sentence normally, without getting a result like !Ӥ$. In that respect it is much like the caps lock on a Mac.

  29. Terri says:

    Thanks. Worked great! Don’t know how I did this, but your solution saved my document just in time for our meeting this morning!

  30. Jennifer says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you

  31. Thank you!! I was so annoyed by this and every website that came up while searching “Cap Lock Stuck” brought my to some stupid joke about how cap locks was ruining their life (yea stupid LOL). Finally I found this and what a simple fix. Btw I restarted my laptop and that seemed to do the trick as well but this is MUCH faster & easier. Thanks again Cheers, BGG

  32. Jennifer says:

    thanks!!!

  33. brent says:

    you save me

  34. tq dear…you saved my day

  35. drgatz says:

    Solved my problem as well… Thanks,

  36. Thanks for solving this very annoying problem. Kudos

  37. Erica says:

    awh! thank you I was getting so fustrated!!

  38. Grendel says:

    Blood pressure returning to normal limits — thanks. BTW — I HATE MICROSOFT WORD (caps intended).

  39. commodore73 says:

    I actually really appreciate Word (I don’t know how I could have written http://sitecorebook.net without it – typo corrections are a feature I miss in tweetdeck). As with Paint and Notepad, Microsoft could fix a few features after all these years. It doesn’t seem like they’re listening very closely – maybe they see better opportunities elsewhere.

    Thanks for commenting,

    -John

  40. Sue Genau says:

    Thank you – you made my Monday morning :)

  41. Mqs says:

    Very useful -thanks for the tip!

  42. Eileen S says:

    Thank you! I have had this happen a couple of times and the only way I could get out of it was to close out of everything and reboot. This is SOOO much easier. At least now I know what I did wrong. (I found this by typing “how to turn off caps lock” in Word Help.)

  43. Bridget says:

    Thank goodness I kept scrolling on my Google Search responses…and found your response. I’d tried several responses before I saw your. I typed in something like… I CAN’T GET MY COMPUTER TO STOP TYPING IN ALL CAPS. Yours was the 9th posting listed and it started out “Microsoft”…that’s when I clicked on yours. I will remember this…CLT, SHIFT, A!

    thanks,

  44. Hasu says:

    Thanks for saving my time mate!

  45. Al Henderson says:

    John,
    YOU deserve a gold star. Always a fast typist, this feature has created some headaches for me in the past few days, and I was thrilled to find your answer. Kudos to you for taking time to investigate and to share your answers with everyone. AAH

  46. Marion says:

    Many, many thanks. You solved my problem and I appreciate it.

  47. Debbie says:

    Thank you. Worked like a dream.

  48. jakedog72 says:

    Thank you! I have a kitten who likes to run across my keyboard. Control-Shift-A was not working and I was becoming frustrated. Thanks to you I learned the Control-Alt-A command and I am no longer shouting. I was beginning to think I would lose my voice.

  49. mbb1421 says:

    Thank you!! Don’t know how I did this, but your solution saved my document just in time for our meeting this morning!!! Thanks again :-)

  50. Jan1956 says:

    Thank you from Melbourne Australia! You are a real gem!

  51. Amanda says:

    omg thank you! I couldn’t figure out why that was happening!

  52. Krista H says:

    i JUST FOUND OUT MY HARD DRIVE IS ON THE FRITZ AND THOUGHT MAYBE THIS WAS JUST ANOTHER SYMPTOM. WELL, ANOTHER ONE HELPED!! (ALTHOUGH, NOW i HAVE TO GO IN AND do THE FIX!!) ;> THANK YOU!! :>

  53. Lady Shrek says:

    Bless you. This was really helpful and now my wading through cyberspace for a solution is at an end. I’m so grateful!

  54. Searched on “microsoft word infinite caps lock” which may not have been the most descriptive search term but it found this page without matching “infinite” anyhow.

    Somebody needs to tell the guys at Microsoft that somebody already came up with a way to make all the letters you type automatically come out as capitals. Jeez.

  55. Lyn says:

    Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

